As we use PayPal for one of our payment options and for others who use PayPal, we would like to bring this scam to your attention.
You may have received an eMail msg. similar to the following:
Quote:
PayPal Warning!
Dear paypal user,
Due to concerns we have for the safety and integrity of the PayPal
community we have issued this warning.
Per the User Agreement, Section 9, we may immediately issue a
warning, temporarily suspend, indefinitely suspend or terminate your membership
and refuse to provide our services to you if we believe that your actions
may cause financial loss or legal liability for you, our users or us. We may also
take these actions if we are unable to verify or authenticate any
information you provide to us.
Please follow the link below:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=login-run [click to see site, but please do not enter any information]
and update your account information now.
|
If you mouse over the link you'll notice the URL is different and shows:
http://www.paypalwarning.org. Although the Web site is a very good forgery it is still a forgery. As it is well done, some people will fall for it and submit their correct information.
If you have received the above eMail and entered your correct information, please immediately cancel your Credit Credit. You should also contact
PayPal and the Fraud squad of your local Police. Not sure what all can be done, but you can start now, to prevent even more damage from being happening.
You should immediately change your passwords and secret answers on your PayPal account and, if you discover any unauthorized transactions or changes on your PayPal account, report them to PayPal immediately! You can also report any unauthorized activity by utilizing the Security Center section of the PayPal website.
Remember that places you do online business with will never send such a eMail -- to anyone. All eMails of the above type are always a fraud and should be reported, to the Web site they are pretending to be and any other Law Enforcement agency you can think of.
Potent Products has already reported the fraud to PayPal, but the more eMails they receive about the above fake site, the better.